//
happy reading! =)
family, relationships

The “Happy” in “Happy Father’s Day”


“Small circle, small circle, big circle. This is mama. This is papa, waving goodbye.”
 
 

I can’t remember the last time we celebrated Father’s Day with Daddy. I also am not sure if he could recall any memory of him being with us during that special day. You see, my dad has been working in the US for 22 effin’ years.

For that reason, I really am not a big fan of Father’s Day. It kinda makes me sad that my dad is not around for the nth time in observing what’s supposed to be his day.

I am thankful though, that he gets to be home once every two years. If he’s lucky enough to be under a “heaven sent” employer, a yearly visit to the Philippines is quite possible.What is clear to me however, are the moments when he bids goodbye to us in the airport. I used to cry a lot when I was younger, and it takes days before I snap out of the sadness and be back to live the normal life again.

When Dad visits, he usually stays here for three weeks. Since I work in Batangas, I see it to that I’d be the one to fetch him in the airport. The three-week stay seemed to be very fast for us. I sometimes get mad at Dad whenever he stays here on school days, when I’ve been requesting that he plans his vacation during summer, so I could spend more time with him. I am not complaining about my work – just saying that I wish I could get to be a full-time daughter to him when he’s here.

“As fathers commonly go, it is seldom a misfortune to be fatherless; and considering the general run of sons, as seldom a misfortune to be childless.”
                                                        –Lord Chesterfield
 
 

I can’t say I’m fatherless, because I get to speak with my Dad almost everyday; we spend time together at least. Didn’t I say that I used to cry buckets of tears when he is about to leave? Now that I’ve grown in age, I feel like that little girl again – I find it hard to compose myself not to cry. Maybe because I wonder, how long does he have to seek for greener pastures in a place so far from his family?

Well before I shed a tear or two, let me just say that this post is my way of greeting all the Pops out there a “Happy Father’s Day!” 😀 You are indeed God’s gifts to mankind.

I salute all the fathers in the world, especially the OFW daddies. I know that it’s hard for them to leave their families, as I have seen the agony in Dad’s face whenever he does… but because of love, still they choose to live up to the role that fathers are the best providers.

My shout-outs also to the single mommies, for playing dual roles at the same time. Mom has been like that for 23 years also, and from what I have seen, she gives a double effort to fill in the shortcomings of Dad.

"Because I couldn't find a picture of you, I just posted a picture of us instead."

Happy Father’s Day to you Dad! 🙂 Eventhough you don’t get to read what I have written (because that’s how you hate being in front of the computer), I know this would get to you somehow. Thank you for being the best, even if at times you feel that you aren’t even close to being one. You will always be an epitome for me, of what “sacrifice” and “love” mean. I am praying for you always. I love you so much! 🙂

About halfblotprincess

i teach: kids with special needs. i write: 3 things - for fun, for living, fo sho! =)) i read: whatever i can find in the library and at home. if nothing interests me, there's always the bookstore to satisfy my needs. =) i am a: certified crammer. i will: give this blog a shot and see where it takes me.

Discussion

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: viant_Dad% - June 19, 2011

Leave a Reply

i write about:

