//
happy reading! =)
people, places, random stuff, tinseltown's latest

iDance. iCarve. iBombHills. iLongboard.


(Halfblotprincess’ has long been in the “quiet mode” for quite some time now. With all the activities which have been keeping me busy lately, I almost forgot that I have a blogsite to maintain. πŸ˜€ )

*************

It’s time to ride the concrete wave.

"Take me, I'm ready. Let's runaway." (Photo by Anna Isabella De Pano)

One boring Thursday night of April, I received a random call from my childhood bestfriend, Karmela. She sounded ecstatic when she asked for my plans that night. I was pretty hyped up while talking to her, because we were making plans. There have been many attempts to grab a coffee and update each other with our own thingamajigs, but most of the time, our schedules do not meet eye to eye. So going back to the phonecall, Mela asked me to join her in meeting up with our good friend, Miguel. The plan was to meet Migs in Kapitolyo Street (Pasig) and learn how to skate.

I hesitated for a moment; having been familiar with skateboards and longboards, I knew the danger these rides could bring. Then again, I wanted to see Mela and Migs again, so I gave it a go and met up with her around 9pm at Baang Coffee in Tomas Morato.


“Everything I Know, I Learned in Kapitolyo.”

Mela and I found ourselves lost in the long stretch of Kapitolyo. We had to call up Migs for further (and clearer) directions. Reaching Uncle Moe’s told us that we were in the right place. So we waited for Migs to fetch us, since he said that we would walk together going to the skate spot.

Kapitolyo in Pasig City is a famous playground for boardsports enthusiasts. From what I have heard of, the barangay officials are kind enough to those who would want to use the area. People regard Kapitolyo as the “boarding school“: it’s the place where a longboard/skateboard is introduced to you. I guess I have to agree with that.

That night, enthusiasts and newbies were beginning to gather and find their own places to practice. I even saw a father with his son, talking to this guy and asking him if he could teach his son the basic stuff in longboarding. The kid, who is approximately age 11 or 12, was in full battle gear. Pads, helmets, gloves – all that protection shizz, the kid has.

And me? I was wearing a cropped shirt with an inner blouse, shorts, sneakers.

No pads, helmets, gloves. I was not ready to have the gasgas and sugat“tocino”, as fondly called by the longboarders.

Kwago Longboarding

Migs introduced us to the ladies and gentlemen of the longboarding group where he belonged to – the Kwago Longboarding. The group’s frontman, Jovel CastaΓ±eda aka Paps, was very kind enough to teach us on how to ride a longboard for the first time. He’s the same guy who was talking to the father who brought along his son to learn longboarding. I was really nervous at first, because I knew the kind of danger these boardsports could bring to anyone who tried. However, Paps reminded us of one thing which I would never forget: you have got to have the confidence. True enough, if one does not have the guts and will to try something new, chances are, the attempt would always be a failure.


So after a few hits and misses, I found myself able to balance already while riding a longboard. Mela, who’s a natural when it comes to skating, had less difficulties. She was able to practice trying a skateboard (Marphie’s) days prior our Kapitolyo tripping. It was such a nice feeling to be able to cruise, even in short distances! πŸ™‚

Too bad, skating of any sort has been banned in Kapitolyo lately. Residents apparently could not take anymore the noise created by the people who frequent the place. I seriously hope that things would work out fine in Kapits, because it’s a really nice spot to learn longboarding for a newbie like me.

Anyway….

More than the happy feeling we felt because we were already learning how to ride a longboard, Mela and I were actually excited to get to know the group. Let me just say, that these Kwagos are among the most fantastic people you’ll ever meet. Not only were they accommodating and kind to noobs like us, but they were just simply great longboarding enthusiasts. They are the personified beings of the word “fun”, in more ways than one. Why do I say so?

Watch this:

And read this (click the link):

“The winding roads of Antipolo is a haven for longboarders”


See what I mean? The Kwagos and the Kwagirls are just a bunch of people full of awesomeness. πŸ™‚ The following day, Mela and I were added by Migs in their Facebook group. Hoho.

Hello Taktak!

Last Saturday, we went to Taktak Road in Antipolo to skate (of course) and it sort of became a field trip/family outing for us. I brought with meΒ  my brother Jc and cousin Jiggy. Mela and I were fortunate to have the bagets join us – they carried our stuff all throughout the trip. πŸ™‚

Not minding the two-hour trip to our destination (and the Php500 cab fare), the place is indeed the perfect niche for longboarders. Well, I really needed to be there because I was finally getting my board from Migs. Jiggy, was also meeting up with other Kwagos to have his mini assembled.

hey there, handsome. πŸ™‚ (Sector 9 - Photo by Jiggy Ilagan)

What we enjoyed most were the exhibitions some of the Kwagos gave us. Daredevils, I must say!

L-R: Sen, Migs, Edward (Photo by Maica Quinto)

make way! πŸ™‚ (Photo by Maica Quinto)

This outdoor activity served as a reunion for me, Mela and Migs. Being classmates way back grade school and having no updates/gatherings to look forward to for more than 10 years, who would have thought that we would bond in the most extreme ways? πŸ™‚

Sector 9's making friends with Ladera. πŸ™‚ (Photo by Jiggy Ilagan)

After a tiring day, we still managed to smile for the camera and have a group picture taken. Well, we had to flash our best because the road going home meant another two-hour bonding with traffic. The Taktak experience was hella fun, but how I wish Antipolo was only two cartwheels away. πŸ˜‰

Stoked! πŸ˜‰ (Photo by Claude Santos)

It’s never too late to try something new. Longboarding is such a fun activity, and it would definitely introduce you to the person you never thought you could become. It is a sport for everyone, regardless the age. So I suggest that you go get a board, find a nice spot, and bomb the blues and boredom away! πŸ™‚

Skating is thrilling, skating is fun.
With good friends to be with, happiness won’t run.
Goin downhill, goin flat
You gonna be screaming, I’m sure of that! β™₯

Claude Santos (on our rhyming games with Paps)

***********

Like Kwagos’ Facebook Page! Click the link. πŸ™‚

TYVM:

Claude Santos, Anna de Pano and Jiggy Ilagan for the pictures. πŸ™‚

– to Kris who was very kind enough to endure the 2-hour traffic from Antipolo to Quezon City. Next time I’ll make sure na you’ll witness true “longboard shizz” when you hit Taktak again. Let’s skate sometime. πŸ™‚

About halfblotprincess

i teach: kids with special needs. i write: 3 things - for fun, for living, fo sho! =)) i read: whatever i can find in the library and at home. if nothing interests me, there's always the bookstore to satisfy my needs. =) i am a: certified crammer. i will: give this blog a shot and see where it takes me.

Discussion

4 thoughts on “iDance. iCarve. iBombHills. iLongboard.

  1. mikel

    Posted by TheBlackTwig | May 19, 2011, 4:19 pm
    • hmm. parang kilala kita ah. haha πŸ™‚

      Posted by halfblotprincess | May 19, 2011, 4:47 pm
      • hi! I think I forgot to log out my account and one of my officemates (probably) explored it. Sorry because I don’t remember reading this entry and writing a comment here. Mikel? What does it mean? Hehehe! I’ll be more careful next time. πŸ™‚ Anyway, nice one here!

        Posted by TheBlackTwig | May 24, 2011, 1:42 pm
      • haha! I think it’s my cousin,Gino Ilagan (who’s your officemate, I assume?) who used your account. πŸ™‚ No harm done, he explained it to me before, I just forgot to erase his comment. Mikel means nothing hehe πŸ™‚ Anyway too, thanks for reading the entry! πŸ™‚

        Posted by halfblotprincess | May 24, 2011, 5:41 pm

Leave a Reply

i write about:

