//
happy reading! =)
people, relationships

“I’m Tired of Chasing People.”


This is the first of many to follow, where I just don’t know how to start this blog entry.

Anyway, the title must have given you already an idea of what this is all about.

Gah. Here goes.

“Everyone chases after happiness, not noticing that happiness is right at their heels.”

Bertolt Brecht

After so long a time, I was able to get in touch with a friend yesterday. She and I used to tell stories with each other, mostly about the girly stuffs which I need not enumerate. Pretty sure you can picture already what I mean.Well okay, for the sake of those who cannot think of one, me and my friend talk about school life, boys, love, lies, rejections and failures.

… and MORE boys, of course.

Yesterday was different though. During the entire conversation, Pia never removed the “in deep thought” look on her face. I was actually the one who had a hard time expressing myself, because I was not so sure where the talk was heading for.

You see, Pia (not her real name) has finally found someone to share her laugh with. Single for six years, she came to a point where she questioned God on why it seemed that guys do not find anything interesting in her. Being the friend that I am, I keep on giving her the assurance that someday, Prince Charming would sweep her of f of her feet and they would live in a kingdom far, far away.

I know that it takes a long time for a person to have his own “happy ever after”. Just when Pia thought that her once far-fetched dream would soon become a reality, another “lady in waiting” entered the picture.

Pia and Gab (not his real name either) were able to hit it off well, when the two met late last year. When I heard that she was exclusively seeing someone, butterflies fluttered in my stomach. I was just so excited for her. Gab seemed to be interested with Pia’s way of living. In short, Gab gave her the attention which this girl truly deserved.

Pia was Gab’s number one fan. Whenever Gab tells her stories which I think are not of great interest, Pia is just there – ready with her sweet voice to give words of encouragement and comfort. What I am not sure of, however, was if Gab took note of Pia’s efforts and feelings.

Don’t get me wrong – the two are not a couple. Having spent so much time together, they portrayed an image of two people in the “getting-there” stage. Smooth sailing and steady.

Maybe Pia was too complacent to notice how different Gab had become. She kept on defending him whenever I asked why they don’t talk that often, unlike before. I wanted her to realize that maybe, Gab was not that into her at all.  Sure, he fancied (or maybe still does) her alright… but not enough.

Telling her what my hunch was would be very heartbreaking, and I feared that we might just end up in a heated discussion.

Until Pia came to me and gave me the “talk”.

I had the strongest feeling that Gab had a girl on the side. This was confirmed when Pia unloaded her excess baggage full of questions and regrets. Issa (not her real name, too) was a new friend Gab met at work. Basing my thoughts on Pia’s stories, Gab’s the type who wanted someone available enough to accompany him in all his whereabouts. He’s the type of guy who preferred the “tangibles” in a relationship. Maybe what Gab needs is a bodyguard. Or the equivalent. Someone to be there to make “bantay” pala eh (guard him at all times).

Yes, being physically present in a relationship is indeed a great factor. We know that already. I may never understand Gab on why he gave false hopes to Pia. Probably the guy wanted to try if they would work, but he did not try enough. I could not blame Issa for liking Gab – who would not? Gab has the gift of “gab”, and mind you, it worked everytime.

The whole world seemed running now, running hard, hunting, chasing, closing in round something or – somebody? In panic, he began to run too, aimlessly, he knew not whither.

Kenneth Grahame

I am always amazed with how love could make a person think in many ways.


Pia chased love for so many years, and now the chase is on once more.

Gab may be confused for the time being, which makes it hard for him to run after something he is not sure of.

Issa, just like Pia, is willing to go beyond her limits for the sake of winning the first place.

Pia is not giving up the fight. She told me she would play fair, and give Gab the liberty to choose between her and Issa. My friend’s a toughie, I know she would never let her guard down.

But just like any human being, she couldn’t help but shed a tear or two and admit that she is growing tired of chasing people.

"So many people walk around with a meaningless life. They seem half-asleep, even when they're busy doing things they think are important. This is because they're chasing the wrong things. " - Morrie Schwartz (Photo by Santino del Castillo)

In the fast-paced world where we live now, we oftentimes take advantage of what is there before our very own eyes. We keep on searching and chasing for people who are not really meant for us.

We try our best to keep up with the hustles and bustles of life, not knowing of the opportunities we have missed along the way.

We live in a busy world. We keep on running after  the things that we think matter to us.

We never say die so we could finish the race in flying colors.

We continue to strive for whatever the grand prize is.

We run. We stop. We get tired. We think.

In the end, what we could only ask ourselves is this:

“Was everything worth the chase?”

*****

To Pia who deserves all the love in the world, know that I look up to your guts. Hang on to ’em – glory will find your way soon.

P.S.


You often don’t or can’t see beauty in the world until someone shows it to you.

As always, ladies and gentlemen… my “malupit and palung-palo” thanks to Santino del Castillo. 😉

 

 


About halfblotprincess

i teach: kids with special needs. i write: 3 things - for fun, for living, fo sho! =)) i read: whatever i can find in the library and at home. if nothing interests me, there's always the bookstore to satisfy my needs. =) i am a: certified crammer. i will: give this blog a shot and see where it takes me.

Discussion

12 thoughts on ““I’m Tired of Chasing People.”

  1. as usual.tagos din sakin.di lang babae ang martyr.galing talaga ng pics ni mr.santino.PATURO! 😀

    Posted by Jiggy Ilagan | March 18, 2011, 2:19 am
  2. well, i believe everything happens for a reason. some people like this and that, while some are not. the sure thing here is that the world never stops spinning. prince charming will come pia! 🙂

    Posted by Marielle Castro | March 18, 2011, 8:06 am
  3. goood luck pia!!!hehehe..

    Posted by Jen Manalo | March 18, 2011, 8:55 am
  4. This is so beautifully written. Pia has a very good friend in you!

    Posted by singlenotdesperate | April 12, 2011, 10:31 pm

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: Tired « Resilience - March 24, 2011

  2. Pingback: The Chase is thrilling! | Spread Information - April 12, 2011

Leave a Reply

i write about:

