//
happy reading! =)
school life

the day job: wake up your teacher


Blogs are supposed to be interesting and fun to read. I cannot completely say that what I have written exudes both adjectives.

Defying gravity.

Breaking the norms.

Taking a breather.

*****

I have always loved going to school. Aside from learning new stuff (well that’s one of the main reasons why we enroll in a class, right?), what kept me excited were my friends. Cliche it may sound, but these people motivated me to drag myself out of bed every single day of my school life.

Good morning and How do you do.

Sing and dance.

Throw and catch.

Read and write.

Add and subtract.

Draw and color.

Goodbye and Thank you.

A concept then was instilled in my mind: school was definitely “LEARN and PLAY” at the same time.

Well I was a student back then – I was platonic and very idealistic (which I remain to be until now).  Things changed when I became a teacher. School was not all about L&P after all.

I work in the province, and getting to Manila to attend reunions and gatherings is quite a hassle for me. I sometimes do not get my weekends off due to the pile of work which need to be addressed. Handling kids with special needs can be draining, and at the end of the day our powers have been sucked already by all the activities we have performed. Sometimes, I feel like I am being eaten alive whenever there are frustrations between me and my students. So there’s no big room for us (my co-teacher) to do all the paperworks at the same day.

There have been instances where I bailed out from my social life mementos. I know I would say yes, but then things start to go crazy before the much awaited day comes. Thanks to social networking sites, I am able to be up to date with whatever my friends have been doing.

Just recently, I saw pictures of my former professors in college thru Facebook. While browsing them one by one, nostalgia started to kick in. Their faces painted bright-wide eyes and young hearts, despite the fact that these people are not getting any younger each day. Now I was able to see the human side of these teachers whom I feared and loved for 4 years. They enjoyed simple gatherings and small get-together events, just as I do now, being in the same field. Years from now, I hope  that I would still remain as a teacher who is young at heart and in mind.

They too have their share of sacrifices just to have their tasks done efficiently. Maybe one of them did not even have a social life to live back then.

I left school earlier this morning (4:00 am)l, together with our secretary, after printing the documents needed for an upcoming visit by an accrediting agency. Our teachers have been getting sleepless nights, just to make sure that all the necessary papers are handed over to the principal just in time. Practically all members of the school community work together to live out what the school claims – providing a tradition of academic excellence to its clientele.

With the phase we are working on in our school right now, a teacher having  pimples here and there is a nothing more but a normal dilemma already. Outburst of emotions by a stressed co-worker has become tolerable for most of us here. Despite what I have mentioned, most of them still manage to smile and move with grace even under pressure.

For teachers, school is not all about learning and playing. It is also about patience, service and perseverance. The school is a teacher’s place for self-discovery; where she would be able to find out in the end that she was able to do things she never thought she could.

I still do not have the right to regard myself as a “teacher”. I have still got a long way to be like one. Compared to the people I work with now, I have no match at all.

Pretty sure you still remember who your favorite teacher is. In one way or another, he/she has made a remarkable difference in your life. Wouldn’t it be nice to say hi and catch up with each other? Because when you were still his/her young student, you were one of his/her top priorities.

Our teachers played a big role in building the life that we live today.

Thank a teacher. It pays. =)

(random stuff - underrated most of the time)

"Para kanino ka bumabangon?"

About halfblotprincess

i teach: kids with special needs. i write: 3 things - for fun, for living, fo sho! =)) i read: whatever i can find in the library and at home. if nothing interests me, there's always the bookstore to satisfy my needs. =) i am a: certified crammer. i will: give this blog a shot and see where it takes me.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

i write about:

